Posted in Nostalgia, Throwback Thursday

#ThrowbackThursday is Makin’ Pizza Hut Parties Great!

So I’ll explain how I came up with this week’s Throwback Thursday, in only a way that I can.

I was testing out the videocassette for Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: The Movie (the 1990 one) to see if it still worked after a recent Retroist article I wrote about it.  I had almost forgotten about a cute Pizza Hut commercial that came before the movie.  And of course, it reminded me of the other videocassette I have in my collection that has a Pizza Hut commercial on it.

This week’s Throwback Thursday will focus on the commercial from the other video, so naturally, Flashback Friday will cover the commercial on Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: The Movie.

The “other” videocassette in my collection is the original 1989 VHS print of The Land Before Time.  And the commercial, you ask? How to behave at a Pizza Hut birthday party.

Because apparently, there is etiquette, as adorable little Jerome will “demonstrate,” under the sage advice of his mother.

Snapshot

This is cute little Jerome.

And by pressing play, you’ll get to see his mad etiquette skills in action!

Of course, I’m convinced this is mad skills on a whole other non-etiquette level…

Snapshot(0)

Makin’ it great indeed.

You’ll also notice the party goodies on the table are Land Before Time-themed, so obviously this was a commercial made exclusively for the video.  And if I must say, this video is holding up very well for it’s 27 years.

And there you have it, Throwback Thursday teaching you something valuable…and the child who debunked all of it in the name of awesomeness.

Come back tomorrow for Flashback Friday, when we see the Pizza Hut commercial from the Ninja Turtles videocassette.

Like Pizza Hut, I’m…

Snapshot(1)

And by it, I mean great memories of your childhood…on a video that likely left traumatic memories in its wake.  I remember you could hear a pin drop in my house when Littlefoot’s mother dies.

Please don’t feel depressed about this.

Author:

Why a blog? I love to write. There's really no magic to it, it's just something I love to do. I actually used to have my own website, which was also called Allison's Written Words (for the curious, allisonswrittenwords.yolasite.com). I established it in 2009, but started to devote less time to it due to starting a new job and a general disinterest in maintaining a website. It's still in existence, but it hasn't been updated since 2011. I took a break from writing and concentrated on work and reading, as well as work through some personal issues I was dealing with at the time. In 2012, I decided I wanted to begin writing again, but sought out a more informal method of publishing. Hence, a blog. Allison's Written Words took off slowly, and every time I thought maybe it wasn't worth having a blog, I kept reminding myself that promotion is the best way to get myself out there. Slowly but surely, my blog began to gain readership almost two years into its existence, and I no longer regret returning to writing. I've also published three articles on Yahoo! Content Network, and have over a dozen articles on retrojunk.com, which I wrote back in 2006. I was Retrojunk's resident "Saturday Night Live Guru," something I am very proud of. Of course, I would love to profit from my writing, but I've always worried that writing would become less fun if I felt stressed about having to produce something earth-shattering (or produce something earth-shattering on a deadline). I'm one of those people that has high expectations of how my work is supposed to be, and have gone so far as to delete drafts of blog articles if I didn't feel the readership would be good. As I'm very niche, I find its hard to be more mainstream, though I do have my moments. What's your educational background? I received my Bachelor of Arts degree in Communication Studies from The Richard Stockton College of New Jersey in December 2005. I interned in a Philadelphia television studio's newsroom during the summer of 2005, but decided television was not for me (though I loved the experience). I still count it on my resume, as it looks great, and gets the conversation started when I've had job interviews. When I was in college, I also took classes in Criminal Justice, Political Science, and Marketing. But I always loved the writing classes I took. I found my voice as a satirist and article writer, and have always enjoyed doing research. I've just never had any interest in writing for a newspaper, as I found out in college that the newspaper is a "dying art form" and "there's no money in it." I also took a class in audio editing, and am proficient with audio and video editing. What do you do when you're not writing? I don't exactly have a full social calendar, but I keep myself busy. I'm in a relationship and childless (a concept that has become a little more acceptable in one's 30s). I love shopping, going out to eat, watching movies, going to the movies, watching TV (sometimes a little too much), and reading. During the summer, I love the boardwalk. I have been dancing since I was 4 years old, taking a hiatus from the age of 18 until age 24 (or as I refer to it, "retirement"). I began dancing again as an adult in 2007, but "retired" due to ongoing foot/ankle injury complications in 2015. I haven't actively taken classes since December 2014. As for my online life, when I'm not writing or researching something for my blog, I keep in touch with my friends, research article ideas, occasionally take an online course (when time and money permit). I'm a bit of a Wikipedia junkie (a complete weakness), and if I have absolutely nothing else to do, don't feel like watching a movie or TV, or reading a book, I've been known to get lost for hours on Wikipedia. I love Twitter, sometimes more than Facebook. I've also had a weakness for You Tube, ever since I discovered its very existence in 2006. My favorite webseries are Good Bad Flicks, The Nostalgia Critic, Angry Video Game Nerd, Cinema Snob, and James and Mike Mondays. I'm not much of a gamer, but for some reason, I love video game-themed web series. I love print advertisements, television commercials (specifically, retromercials), the Hammacher Schlemmer website, sitcoms, and apparently, Color Me Badd...since their song "I Wanna Sex You Up" seems to come on I Heart Radio's 80s station at inappropriate times. I love music and have a mind for lyrics, but am tone-deaf. Favorite TV Shows/Movies? Favorite TV Shows - Saturday Night Live, Stargate SG-1, Stargate Atlantis, Stargate Universe, Psych, Family Guy, MacGyver, Sanctuary, The Golden Girls, Wings, Farscape, 21 Jump Street, Newsradio, and Quantum Leap. I have an extreme weakness for sitcoms, particularly ones from the 1980s and 1990s. Until a few years ago, I wasn't into science fiction, but over the last five years, have developed a taste for it. I feel scatter-brained at times with what I watch on television, since I tend to watch several series at one time, but try to keep up on what's currently on. I usually have my reservations about new television shows, since I'm convinced that I'm a jinx and that shows get cancelled because I watched them once. If something you like got cancelled, it may be because I watched it. I've also never fully recovered from "The Whispers" getting cancelled on a cliffhanger. Oh, and by the way, cliffhangers are the bane of my existence. Favorite Movies - Fast Times at Ridgemont High, The Goonies, Stargate: The Ark of Truth, Stargate Continuum, Stargate, A League of Their Own, Summer Catch, St. Elmo's Fire, Wayne's World, and The Breakfast Club. I'm definitely more of a television than movie kind of girl, but I do love movies, and a particular weakness for nostalgic films. I've resisted for over 20 years to not watch any of the Star Wars films ever again, but recently saw Parts IV, V, and VI, and realized that I was nuts for listening to a promise I made when I was 10 years old. Sometimes you just have to listen to your inner geek. And that's what there is to know about me. I never said it was glamorous or exciting, but it's me. How to contact me: Via this blog Twitter @ DancerChick1982 Email: DancerChick1982@gmail.com You can also subscribe to the Facebook page for this blog to receive updates. Just click "Like," and allow the randomness to fill your Newsfeed. I try to keep the blog updated as much as it is humanly possible, but sometimes I will provide small updates there.

One thought on “#ThrowbackThursday is Makin’ Pizza Hut Parties Great!

Leave a Reply

